What: 38th Annual Spring Classic

Where: Rockford Speedway (located at 9572 Forest Hills Rd Loves Park, IL)

When: Sunday April 12

Schedule and Information:
7 AM- Pits Open, Breakfast in Pit Concession
8 AM- Chapel Service in South VIP Tower
8:45 AM- Big 8 Series Driver’s Meeting in Pit Stands
9:30 AM- Rotating Practice (until 11:25 AM)
11 AM- Front Gate Opens
11:30 AM- Qualifying (All divisions-2 laps)
12:45 PM- Opening Ceremonies

Divisions Competing:
Big 8 Late Model Series presented by Gandrud Chevrolet
(complete show highlighted by an 88 lap feature)
Quest Industrial Mid-American Stock Car Series
(complete show highlighted by a 50 lap feature)
American Ethanol Super Truck Series
(Twin 25 lap features)

Admission Prices:
Adults: $20
Students (ages 12-17) & Seniors: $10
Children (ages 6-11): $5
Kids 5 & under: FREE

Final 2014 Big 8 Series Point Standings (Top 10)
1. #5 Casey Johnson 937 (4 wins)
2. #14 Austin Nason 928 (3 wins)
3. #X Jon Reynolds Jr 714 (3 wins)
4. #51 Dale Nottestad 671
5. #7 John DeAngelis Jr 644
6. #82 J Herbst 590
7. #5 Dave Edwards 561
8. #28 Jesse Bernhagen 537
9. #52 Steve Dobbratz 421
10. #23 Casey Strese 420

Past Big 8 ‘Spring Classic’ Winners:
2013- Alex Papini Machesney Park, IL
2012- Jon Reynolds Jr. Rockford, IL
2011- Dale Nottestad Cambridge, WI
2010- Casey Johnson Edgerton, WI
2008- Michael Bilderback South Beloit, IL
2007- Mike Ehde Prairie du Chien, WI
2006- Mike Beyer Machesney Park, IL
2005- Mike Beyer Machesney Park, IL
–(2009 and 2014 feature events were Rained Out)–

THIS YEAR: One of the most interesting Spring Classic fields in recent memory will battle for first place this Sunday afternoon at Rockford Speedway. Leading the way are the two drivers who battled for the championship last year, Casey Johnson and Austin Nason. Johnson won the last Big 8 race at Rockford in thrilling fashion, besting Nason and Dale Nottestad in a ‘green-white-checkered’ scramble that ended three-wide at the finish line. Nason has already won a race in 2015, at the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing in New Smyrna Florida during February’s ‘Speedweeks.’ Despite racing ten minutes from home Sunday, Nason and crew will put on nearly 700 miles this weekend, as the teenager races a Super Late Model Saturday afternoon in Toledo, OH.

Other drivers to watch this weekend include South Beloit’s Michael Bilderback, who will race a Dodge Charger fielded by Wisconsin racer Adam Peschek. Bilderback is no stranger to success at Rockford, becoming the youngest winner of Spring Classic in 2008 while also winning the 2012 ‘All Star 100.’ Lockport’s Josh Nelms looks to make his first Big 8 Series start on Sunday. Nelms was crowned the 2006 Late Model Rookie of the Year at Rockford and also claimed victory in the 200 lap National Short Track Championship in 2009. Two-time NASCAR Illinois State Champion and 2013 Rockford Speedway Track Champion Alex Papini is not only is looking to win a second consecutive Big 8 Spring Classic on Sunday, but also plans to attempt his first ever Mid-American Series start the same day.

Sun April 12- 38th Annual Spring Classic (Rockford Speedway, Loves Park IL)
Fri June 5- Hibu ‘Hawkeye Stakes’ (Hawkeye Downs Raceway, Cedar Rapids, IA)
Fri June 26- Salute to America (Madison International Speedway, Oregon WI)
Fri July 24- Larry Detjens Memorial Race (State Park Speedway, Wausau WI)
Tues Aug 4- Gandrud Chevrolet Dixieland Delight (Wisconsin Int’l Raceway, Kaukauna WI)
Sat Sept 26- 7th Annual ‘Thunderstruck 93’ (Elko Speedway, Elko New Market, MN)
Sat Oct 3- 50th Anniversary National Short Track Championships (Rockford Speedway)
Sat Oct 10- 46th Oktoberfest Race Weekend (La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway, West Salem, WI)

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Please visit www.big8series.com

Back to News

Next Event

Spirit of '76

Friday, July 5th

Grundy County Speedway

    Watch Live

Top 8 in Points
As of 4/28/2024

Rank Car # Driver Name Points
1 2B Michael Bilderback 216
2 11S Randy Sargent 207
3 X Jon Reynolds Jr. 191
4 14B Grant Brown 153
5 50G Jacob Gille 149
6 52R Shane Radtke 142
7 49 Jerry Mueller 138
8 11R Joshua Lundy 134

View Full Standings