JEFFERSON, WI (Sunday, September 14, 2014) Sporting the Dan Chesmore tribute paint scheme, Edgerton’s Casey Johnson captured wins in both of the twin 65 lap Wisconsin State Championship Late Model features. The wins marked Johnson’s seventh and eighth trip to victory lane this season at Jefferson Speedway and also won him his first Wisconsin State Championship.

The first of two Big 8 Series Late Model main events got underway with Dale Nottestad and Kyle Jarlsberg leading the field of 24 competitors to green. Nottestad grabbed control on lap one as Jarlsberg dropped back into a battle for second with Noel Ramge. Two cautions in the early going slowed the pace with Nottestad still showing the way with Jarlsberg and Ramge in second and third respectively. On lap 21, Alex Papini joined the leaders taking over the fourth position behind Ramge. Another caution on lap 29 for fluid on the racing surface served as an extended break in the action while cleanup ensued. Once racing resumed, Papini continued his climb toward the front as he took third from Ramge on lap 30 and second from Jarlsberg on lap 32. Papini began to size up Nottestad on the point while the leader tried to keep him in his rear view mirror. Meanwhile, Johnson pulled his machine into the third position on lap 48. After another yellow flag period on lap 58, Papini began to apply heavy pressure to Nottestad with Johnson continuing to watch from third. Nottestad and Papini made contact several times, eventually resulting in Johnson spinning to avoid an incident and force another caution. Johnson was allowed to keep his position on the restart behind Nottestad and Papini with only six laps to go. Nottestad and Papini renewed their battle for the top spot once racing resumed. After swapping paint several time, Nottestad spun on lap 63 to bring out one final caution. Nottestad and Papini were relegated to the rear of the field on the restart for their involvement in the caution, handing the point over to Johnson with only two laps remaining. Johnson remained in control through the checkers to claim the win with Ramge, Stephen Scheel, Shaun Scheel and Dylan Schuyler completing the top five.

Jon Reynolds Jr took control on the opening lap of feature number two with Jason Schuler battling Don Gaserude for second. Gaserude made hard contact with the turn three wall on lap two to force a caution. Racing resumed with Reynolds out front and Schuler riding in second. Meanwhile, Johnson was picking way toward the front as he looked to secure the overall championship. Johnson entered the top five on lap 34. Johnson continued forward, taking fourth on lap 40 and third three laps later. By lap 45, Johnson was alongside Schuler for second with Papini riding in his tracks. Johnson cleared for the second spot and pulled up behind Reynolds on lap 49. Johnson made quick work of Reynolds to secure the lead and begin to pull away from the pack. Papini followed into second in the closing laps, but Johnson was already well on his way to another feature victory. At the checkers, it was Johnson for the win followed by Papini, Reynolds, Schuler and Austin Nason. With his victories, Johnson was awarded the overall title with Noel Ramge second and Luke Westenberg in third.

Back to News

Next Event

Larry Detjens Memorial

Friday, July 26th

State Park Speedway

Watch Live

Top 8 in Points
As of 7/7/2024

Rank Car # Driver Name Points
1 2B Michael Bilderback 330
2 X Jon Reynolds Jr. 284
3 11S Randy Sargent 277
4 14B Grant Brown 260
5 66K Kendrick Kreyer 229
6 50G Jacob Gille 224
7 13L Brandon Laing 222
8 11R Joshua Lundy (r) 214

View Full Standings