The Big 8 Late Model Series presented by Gandrud Chevrolet returns to State Park Speedway in Wausau, Wisconsin for the third straight year this Friday night July 25th as part of the Larry Detjens Memorial Weekend. The “Best Weekly Warriors in the Country” will test the tricky one third mile near Rib Mountain, vying for the win in a 58 lap feature event.

The event in Wausau marks the sixth stop on the 2014 schedule for the Big 8 Late Model Series, meaning the second half of the season begins Friday night. When the Big 8 Late Model Series last took to the track July 13 at Slinger Super Speedway, teenager Austin Nason pocketed his first ever Series win, capturing the trophy and the title of ‘King of the High Banks.’ With the effort, Nason also assumed the Big 8 point lead for the first time in his career, holding a seventeen point advantage over Dale Nottestad with the series heading north this weekend.

Nottestad has been his usual consistent self in 2014, finishing in the top five at each series race this season. Nottestad finished runner up in last year’s 58 lapper in Wausau to eventual Series champion Casey Johnson. Speaking of Johnson, the Edgerton Wisconsin driver sits third in current Big 8 standings and was runner up to Nason at Slinger back on July 13. Johnson has tasted much success at State Park Speedway in the past, taking fast time honors in both prior events at the track while finishing on the podium in both races, including last year’s win.

‘Driver X’ Jon Reynolds Jr is looking to continue his winning ways on the Big 8 tour this season. Reynolds is the only repeat winner on the Big 8 tour in 2014, taking top honors at Madison International Speedway in June and at Dells Raceway Park in July. The 2005 Big 8 Series champion needs just one more win to tie four-time series champion Jeremy Miller atop the all-time Big 8 Series wins list.

Other top Big 8 Series racers making the trip to State Park Speedway Friday night include Jesse Bernhagen (2012 Big 8 Rookie of the Year), 20 year-old John DeAngelis Jr (sixth in Series points), Tim Sargent (2010 Rockford Speedway champion), Casey Strese (2013 Big 8 Rookie of the Year), J Herbst (two-time LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway champion), Mike Ehde (Former Dells Raceway Park champion) and Wayne Freimund (Former Slinger Speedway champion). Joining the Big 8 regulars at Wausau Friday night will be several regulars of the Budweiser/Fabiano Brothers Limited Late Model division which competes weekly at State Park Speedway.

Activities Friday night get underway with Pit Gates opening at 3 PM and practice set to begin at 4 PM. Qualifying, including Quartermaster Time Trials for the Big 8 Late Model Series, will start at 6 PM, with racing to follow at 7 PM. The Mini Stocks, Mini Mods and Bandoleros are also featured Friday night as part of the opening night of the Larry Detjens Memorial. Adult general admission is $15, with Kids ages 6-12 admitted for $5, while kids 5 and under are free.

For more information on the Larry Detjens Memorial Weekend and State Park Speedway, please visit or call 715/212-9006.

For more information on the Big 8 Late Model Series, check out

Big 8 Late Model Series presented by Gandrud Chevrolet
Expected Entries
Larry Detjens Memorial Weekend
State Park Speedway
Friday July 25, 2014

2- Tim Sargent
2- Eric Willhite
5- Dave Edwards
5- Casey Johnson
7- John DeAngelis Jr
X- Jon Reynolds Jr
14- Austin Nason
15- Michael Clapper
18- Mike Ehde
23- Casey Strese
27- Collin Olson
28- Jesse Bernhagen
37- Mike Meyerhofer
39- Todd Handrick
46- Tom Jasinski
47- Jeff Spatz
50- Jake Gille
51- Dale Nottestad
55- Craig Phillips
74- David Cabelka
75- Mike Beyer
79- Jeff Nowak
82- J Herbst
87- Brent Edmunds
95.3- Wayne Freimund

Back to News

Next Event

47th Annual Spring Classic

Saturday, April 27th

Grundy County Speedway - Morris, IL

Entry List - Watch Live

Top 8 in Points
As of 10/11/2023

Rank Car # Driver Name Points
1 X Jon Reynolds, Jr. (Champion) 920
2 11S Randy Sargent 911
3 13G Jacob Gille 740
4 14B Grant Brown 734
5 49M Jerry Mueller 638
6 14K Kody King 615
7 3B Greg Borchardt (ROY) 573
8 3H Tyler Hromadka 494

View Full Standings