The state of Minnesota will be well represented this weekend at Rockford Speedway’s 37th Annual Spring Classic, as three young and accomplished drivers have filed their entries for the opening event of the 2014 Big 8 Late Model Series season.

Leading the charge is Lakeville Minnesota’s Chris Marek, the 2013 Elko Speedway Track Champion. The 25 year old ended last season red hot behind the wheel of a Big 8 Late Model, winning two of the Series’ final three races (Elko and LaCrosse), while also winning the ‘JMcK 63’ Big 8 Late Model Invitational at Oktoberfest.

23 year old Kyle Kirberger has also filed his entry for this weekend’s Rockford opener. The Ramsey Minnesota native was last year’s Late Model ‘Rookie of the Year’ at Elko Speedway and also pocketed his first ever Late Model feature win last season at his hometrack. The “Ramsey Rocket” makes his first trip to Illinois this weekend looking to tame Rockford’s high banks.

One of the youngest drivers in the field this weekend will be Hugo Minnesota’s Collin Olson. At just 15 years old, Olson hops behind the wheel of a Big 8 Late Model for the first time at Rockford Speedway. Despite his youth, Olson already has racked up some major racing accomplishments, including the 2012 USAC Quarter Midget Championship.

The 37th Annual Spring Classic kicks off the Midwestern racing season this Sunday April 13 at Rockford Speedway. The Big 8 Late Model Series will headline the day, running a 108 lap feature event. Also on the Spring Classic card are the Mid American Stock Car Series and the Illinois Vintage Racing Series. Gates open at 11 AM, with the first green flag at 1 PM.

For more information on Rockford Speedway and the 37th Annual Spring Classic, please visit or call 815-633-1500.

For more information on the Big 8 Late Model Series, please visit

Back to News

Next Event

Star Spangled 76

Rockford Speedway
Saturday, July 4th

Top 8 in Points
As of 10/6/19

1 2B Michael Bilderback 615
2 00W Brody Willett 572
3 52W Chad Walen 530
4 51JN Justin Neisius 487
5 13E Nick Egan 470
6 51DN Dale Nottestad 446
7 92B RJ Braun (r) 443
8 49M Jerry Mueller 420

View Full Standings