Big 8 Late Model Series officials have revealed their 2018 Schedule of Events, which currently includes eight dates at facilities across the Midwest.

Since it’s inception in late 2004, the Series has taken part in some of the most well-known racing events held annually at some of the most storied short tracks in America. This year’s slate is no exception.

The Big 8 Late Model Series begins its fourteenth season Sunday afternoon April 15 at Rockford (IL) Speedway as part of the 41st Annual Spring Classic. The day is highlighted by an 88 lap feature race for the “Best Weekly Warriors in the Country,” with the Mid American Stock Car Series joining the Spring Classic card along with the American Super Cup Series.

Following Spring Classic, the Big 8 Series heads west to Iowa, for “Clash at the Downs IV’ at Hawkeye Downs in Cedar Rapids on Friday June 1. The first three visits to the sprawling eastern Iowa facility have produced memorable action and fantastic finishes along with three different winners. Producing both big car counts and big action, the Hawkeye Downs race has quickly become one of the most competitive on the Big 8 schedule.

Four weeks later (Friday June 29), the Series makes its traditional summertime stop at Madison (WI) International Speedway for what is sure to be a “can’t miss” night of short track racing. This year, the Big 8 Late Model Series joins the USAC Silver Crown Champ Car Series as part of the annual ‘Salute to America’ program at ‘Wisconsin’s Fastest Half Mile.” This marks the first time the Big 8 Series has shared the stage with America’s premiere short track open wheel sanctioning body.

One month after the Madison event (Friday July 27), the Big 8 Late Model Series treks north to State Park Speedway to headline the Opening Night of the Larry Detjens Memorial Weekend. The unique oval near Wausau has provided the setting for some of the closest and most exciting Big 8 Series races over the past several years and has become a favorite stop on the tour for both drivers and fans alike.

Eleven days later, on Tuesday night August 7, the Big 8 Late Model Series shares the spotlight with the ARCA Midwest Tour as part of the “Dixieland 250” at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna. The Big 8 Series is scheduled to contest the 38 lap “Dixieland Delight” on this special August evening, preceding the 250 lap Super Late Model spectacular on the one-of-a-kind “D shaped” oval.

Six weeks later, the “three race in three week” stretch to crown the 2018 Big 8 Late Model Series champion begins at Elko Speedway on Saturday night September 22. In 2018, the Big 8 Late Model Series is the headlining division of the 10th Anniversary ‘Thunderstruck 93″ at the competitive bullring located one half hour south of the Twin Cities in Elko New Market Minnesota.

An always-anticipated event on each year’s schedule takes place one week later at Rockford Speedway on “Short Track Saturday Night'” (September 29) as part of the 53rd running of the National Short Track Championship. Rockford’s famed ‘high banks’ provide the setting for the grueling 108 lap rumble which tests the skills and patience of the Big 8’s best while also testing the endurance of each man and machine.

Finally, on Saturday October 6, the 2018 Big 8 Series champion is crowned at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway in West Salem as part of the massive 49th Annual Oktoberfest Race Weekend. Big 8 racers from across the Midwest converge yearly on Oktoberfest to try and earn ‘the toughest ticket in town’ among as many as 60 competitors while gunning for victory in the 68 lap championship feature at “Fest.”

For more information on the Big 8 Late Model Series, please visit

For up-to-the-minute updates, please “Like” Big 8 Series on Facebook or “Follow” us on Twitter @big8series.


Sunday April 15 – “41st Annual Spring Classic”
Rockford Speedway (Loves Park, IL)

Friday June 1 – ”Clash at the Downs IV”
Hawkeye Downs (Cedar Rapids, IA)

Friday June 29 – “Salute to America” (w/USAC Silver Crown Champ Car Series)
Madison Int’l Speedway (Oregon, WI)

Friday July 27 – “Larry Detjens Memorial”
State Park Speedway (Wausau, WI)

Tuesday August 7 – “Dixieland Delight” (w/the ARCA Midwest Tour Dixieland 250)
Wisconsin Int’l Raceway (Kaukauna, WI)

Saturday September 22 – “10th Annual Thunderstruck 93”
Elko Speedway (Elko New Market, MN)

Saturday September 29 – “53rd Annual National Short Track Championships”
Rockford Speedway (Loves Park, IL)

Saturday October 6 – “49th Oktoberfest Race Weekend”
La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway (West Salem, WI)

***Subject To Change. Additional Date(s) May Be Added***

Back to News

Next Event

Spirit of '76

Friday, July 5th

Grundy County Speedway

    Watch Live

Top 8 in Points
As of 4/28/2024

Rank Car # Driver Name Points
1 2B Michael Bilderback 216
2 11S Randy Sargent 207
3 X Jon Reynolds Jr. 191
4 14B Grant Brown 153
5 50G Jacob Gille 149
6 52R Shane Radtke 142
7 49 Jerry Mueller 138
8 11R Joshua Lundy 134

View Full Standings