Miller Holds Off Rece for Madison Win


Jeremy Miller won the 48 lap feature for the Big 8 Late Models, It was his fifth Big 8 win at Madison going back to 2006. It was also his 18th career Late Model win at Madison.

The 22nd Big 8 race at Madison was brought to the green flag by Brent Edmunds and Franc Beldowski. The pair raced side by side for the first three laps with Beldowski finally able to get a slight advantage before a spin behind them brought out the caution flag.

Beldowski led the field back to the green flag followed by Edmunds and Shaun Scheel. He was able to open up a six car length lead followed by Edmunds, Will Rece, Michael Bilderback, and Shaun Scheel. On lap 9 Jeremy Miller broke into the top five while one lap later Rece and Bilderback moved up to second and third. Jeff Holmgren Jr. moved into fifth on lap 11 with Dale Nottestad into sixth.

On lap 16 Will Rece worked to the inside of Beldowski coming out of turn two to take the lead with Bilderback and Miller also getting by Beldowski. Nottestad worked his way into the top five on lap 18. At the half-way mark Rece was running strong out front as he had built up a three car length lead over Bilderback.

Things got very interesting on lap 26 when a car spun just ahead of Rece as he was coming out of turn three. Rece was able to move to the high side of the track to avoid making contact as the caution flag came out.

Rece brought the field back to green with Bilderback and Miller side by side behind him. Rece was able to increase his lead up to six car lengths while Miller and Bilderback were fighting it out for second. On lap 27 Bilderback and Jeff Holmgren Jr. made contact on the front stretch with Holmgren Jr. hitting the wall and bringing out another caution flag. Holmgren Jr. was able to stay on the track while Bilderback made a quick trip to the pits before returning.

Once again, Rece would lead the field back to the green flag while the three cars behind him at the time of the caution all chose to line up on the inside which allowed Shaun Scheel was able to move up to the outside of the second row next to Miller. When the green flag waved, Rece continued to lead with Miller in second and Nottestad and Shaun Scheel racing for third. Rece and Miller pulled away from the pack with Miller showing he had more speed as he took the lead on lap 31. Jon Reynolds Jr. passed Nottestad for third on lap 34 but had a lot of ground to cover in order to catch the top two who were pulling away from the field.

Out front Miller’s lead over Rece was increasing and time was quickly running out on the rest of the field as the race stayed green the rest of the way as Miller was able to hold off Rece to pick up the win. Following the top two were Reynolds Jr., Nottestad, and Shaun Scheel.

“The car was perfect all night. We tightened some things up after the heat races which was definitely the right call,” said Miller. “I’ve had a lot of good teachers, and I’ve been a pretty good student here over the years.”

Fastest in qualifying was Jeremy Miller with a lap of 18.577 (96.894 mph). Heat winners were Brent Edmunds, Shaun Scheel, and Jerry Mueller.



Big 8 Late Models – Feature 48 Laps
1. 5JM-Jeremy Miller , Rockford, IL[10], 2. 77WR-William Rece , Stoughton, WI[6], 3. X-Jon Reynolds Jr , Loves Park, IL[15], 4. 2DN-Dale Nottestad , Cambridge, WI[9], 5. 8SS-Shaun Scheel , Lake Mills, WI[3], 6. 49JM-Jerry Mueller , Richfield, WI[12], 7. 2MB-Michael Bilderback , South Beloit, IL[8], 8. 61FB-Franc Beldowski , Rockford, IL[2], 9. 4SS-Stephen Scheel , Lake Mills, WI[5], 10. 6OG-Owin Giles , Elko New Market, MN[13], 11. 28BW-Bobby Wilberg , Beloit, WI[4], 12. 87BE-Brent Edmunds , Monticello, WI[1], 13. 7MH-Mitch Haver , West Bend, WI[14], 14. 93JB-John Beinlich , Carol Stream, IL[16], 15. 10DM-Dusty Mann , Swisher, IA[11], 16. 17MS-Mark Simonsen , Crystal Lake, IL[17], 17. 49MA-McKayla Adams , Sun Prairie, WI[19], 18. 32PD-Paul Dygon , Wind Lake, WI[22], 19. 14HR-Hanna Raley , Fall River, WI[18], 20. 5JH-Jeff Holmgren Jr , East Troy, WI[7], 21. 58TH-Tyler Hromadka , Colgate, WI[21], 22. 11RS-Randy Sargent , South Beloit, IL[20]


1. 5JM-Jeremy Miller, 18.5770; 2. 2DN-Dale Nottestad, 18.7050; 3. 2MB-Michael Bilderback, 18.7220; 4. 5JH-Jeff Holmgren Jr, 18.7400; 5. 77WR-William Rece, 18.8630; 6. 4SS-Stephen Scheel, 18.9210; 7. 28BW-Bobby Wilberg, 18.9350; 8. 8SS-Shaun Scheel, 18.9460; 9. 61FB-Franc Beldowski, 19.0050; 10. 87BE-Brent Edmunds, 19.0740; 11. 10DM-Dusty Mann, 19.1290; 12. 49JM-Jerry Mueller, 19.1570; 13. 6OG-Owin Giles, 19.1580; 14. 7MH-Mitch Haver, 19.1800; 15. 93JB-John Beinlich, 19.3210; 16. 17MS-Mark Simonsen, 19.4060; 17. 14HR-Hanna Raley, 19.5360; 18. 49MA-McKayla Adams, 19.5530; 19. 11RS-Randy Sargent, 19.6040; 20. 58TH-Tyler Hromadka, 19.6440; 21. 32PD-Paul Dygon, 20.1730; 22. X-Jon Reynolds Jr, NT

Big 8 Late Models – Heat 1 8 Laps
1. 87BE-Brent Edmunds , Monticello, WI[3], 2. 5JM-Jeremy Miller , Rockford, IL[6], 3. 5JH-Jeff Holmgren Jr , East Troy, WI[5], 4. 28BW-Bobby Wilberg , Beloit, WI[4], 5. 6OG-Owin Giles , Elko New Market, MN[2], 6. 17MS-Mark Simonsen , Crystal Lake, IL[1], 7. 11RS-Randy Sargent , South Beloit, IL[7]

Big 8 Late Models – Heat 2 8 Laps
1. 8SS-Shaun Scheel , Lake Mills, WI[4], 2. 77WR-William Rece , Stoughton, WI[5], 3. 7MH-Mitch Haver , West Bend, WI[2], 4. 10DM-Dusty Mann , Swisher, IA[3], 5. 58TH-Tyler Hromadka , Colgate, WI[7], 6. 14HR-Hanna Raley , Fall River, WI[1]

Big 8 Late Models – Heat 3 8 Laps
1. 49JM-Jerry Mueller , Richfield, WI[2], 2. 61FB-Franc Beldowski , Rockford, IL[3], 3. 2MB-Michael Bilderback , South Beloit, IL[5], 4. X-Jon Reynolds Jr , Loves Park, IL[8], 5. 4SS-Stephen Scheel , Lake Mills, WI[4], 6. 93JB-John Beinlich , Carol Stream, IL[1], 7. 49MA-McKayla Adams , Sun Prairie, WI[7], 8. 32PD-Paul Dygon , Wind Lake, WI[6]

Back to News

Next Event

47th Annual Spring Classic

Saturday, April 27th

Grundy County Speedway - Morris, IL

Entry List - Watch Live

Top 8 in Points
As of 10/11/2023

Rank Car # Driver Name Points
1 X Jon Reynolds, Jr. (Champion) 920
2 11S Randy Sargent 911
3 13G Jacob Gille 740
4 14B Grant Brown 734
5 49M Jerry Mueller 638
6 14K Kody King 615
7 3B Greg Borchardt (ROY) 573
8 3H Tyler Hromadka 494

View Full Standings