The Big 8 Late Models traveled back to State Park Speedway for what has become tradition on the Opening Night of the Larry Detjens Memorial Race Weekend Friday evening. And by the end of the evening, Michael Bilderback made winning a tradition as he not only set Fast Time, but won his Heat Race and the 58 lap Miller Lite Detjens Memorial Feature Race.

Brody Willett and Jeremy Lepak would start the feature event on the front row. Willett was able to grab the early lead and held Lepak behind him. An early caution three laps in saw Tyler Brown spin and collect Jeff Nowak and Jared Duda. All cars were eventually able to continue. Willett continued to lead after the restart until lap sixteen when Jake Vanoskey spun in turn four causing another caution. Willett once again would maintain the lead on the restart with the next yellow flying on lap twenty-two. This caution was caused when contact between Michael Ostdiek and Adam Pescheck caused the Ostdiek machine to spin in turn two.

Only three laps after this restart, Jeremy Miller and Derek Lemke got together in turn three and Lemke backed into the wall hard while Miller was able to continue. With thirty laps left, Bilderback, who found himself on the outside of the second row on the restart, made the pass on Willett and never looked back. Bilderback picked up his second feature of the season. Lepak was able to hang on to second, Ostdiek fought back for third. Muskego’s Jake Zellmer finished in fourth place, his best ever finish in a Big 8 Series event. Willett had a solid night, finishing fifth place int he feature while moving up to third in the Big 8 Late Model Series point standings.

This upcoming Tuesday night, the Big 8 Late Model Series returns to action at Wisconsin International Raceway with the ‘Dixieland Delight’ 38 lap feature. The race is scheduled as an undercard for the ARCA Midwest Tour Dixieland 250 featuring NASCAR champion Kyle Busch.

Big 8 Late Model Series
Miller Lite Larry Detjens Memorial
Official Race Results

1. Michael Bilderback South Beloit, IL
2. Jeremy Lepak Wausau, WI
3. Michael Ostdiek Lakeville, MN
4. Jake Zellmer Muskego, WI
5. Brody Willett Alburnett, IA
6. Jeremy Miller Rockford, IL
7. Ryan Kamish Farmington, MN
8. Adam Peschek Oconomowoc, WI
9. Kyle Kirberger Ramsey, MN
10. Bryan Wrolstad Northfield, MN
11. Jake Vanoskey Hartford, WI
12. Tyler Hromadka Brookfield, WI
13. Jerry Mueller Richfield, WI
14. Tyler Brown Carol Stream, IL
15. Jeff Nowak Weston, WI
16. Jared Duda St Michael, MN
17. Derek Lemke Shakopee, MN

Fast Time: Bilderback
Heat Race Winners: Bilderback, Lepak

Big 8 Late Model Serues
Point Standings (as of 7/29/17)

1. Michael Bilderback 484
2. Jeremy Miller 444
3. Brody Willett 361
4. Ryan Kamish 299
5. Tim Sargent 295
6. Jerry Mueller 266
7. Jake Vanoskey 248
8. Tyler Brown (R) 236
9. Jake Zellmer 231
10. Jared Duda 228

For more information:

Back to News

Next Event



Madison Int'l Speedway

Watch Live     Entry Blank

Top 8 in Points
As of 4/28/2024

Rank Car # Driver Name Points
1 2B Michael Bilderback 116
2 66K Kendrick Kreyer 109
3 11S Randy Sargent 109
4 X Jon Reynolds, Jr. 96
5 49M Jerry Mueller 88
6 14B Grant Brown 85
7 11L Joshua Lundy 84
8 50G Jacob Gille 81

View Full Standings