What: NAPA Auto Parts presents the 7th annual ‘Thunderstruck’

Where: Elko Speedway (26350 France Ave, Elko, MN 55020)

When: Saturday night September 26

Schedule and Information:
9 AM- Pit Gates Open
12:45-2:20 PM Rotating Practice
4 PM- Qualifying
6 PM- Racing begins

Divisions Competing:
Big 8 Late Model Series presented by Gandrud Chevrolet
PLUS: the ARCA Midwest Tour, Thunder Cars, Power Stocks, Legends & Hornets

Admission Prices:
Adult (13 and up) – $20
Ages 4-12 – $5
Ages 3 and under- FREE

Current Big 8 Late Model Series Point Standings (Top 15 thru five races)

1. #2 Michael Bilderback 515 (1)
2. #28 Bobby Wilberg 502 (1)
3. #14 Austin Nason 482 (1)
4. #X Jon Reynolds Jr 459 (1)
5. #18 Michael Ostdiek 412
6. #97 Cole Anderson ® 365
7. #95 Wayne Freimund 338
8. #5 Dave Edwards 321
9. #36 Lyle Nowak 315
10. #45 Michael Bachaus 284
11. #82 J Herbst 268
12. #17 Eric Connell 248
13. #15 Michael Clapper 247
14. #66 Adam Peschek 233
15. #29 Caleb Adrian 195 (1)

PREVIEWING THE 7TH ANNUAL ‘THUNDERSTRUCK’: Following a 51 day layoff, the Big 8 Late Model Series presented by Gandrud Chevrolet returns to action this weekend, as the ‘Best Weekly Warriors in the Country’ head to Minnesota to begin a stretch of ‘Three Races in Three Weeks’ to determine the 2015 Big 8 Series champion. This Saturday night’s event at Elko Speedway is the fourth in Series history at the track, and features a solid list of drivers competing. The chase for the Big 8 Championship continues with no less than five drivers mathematically in the mix for the series crown. Michael Bilderback leads the charge, with a slim 13 point advantage over Bobby Wilberg. Both drivers have one Big 8 victory this season, with Bilderback’s win at Wausau in July swinging the point battle into his favor. Madison winner Austin Nason sits third, just 33 points off of the top spot and 20 points away from second, while Kaukauna winner ‘Driver X’ Jon Reynolds Jr is fourth in the standings, 56 markers off of the lead. Minnesota teenager Michael Ostdiek may be a long-shot for the Big 8 champinship (103 points back in fifth), but the Elko regular may be a favorite to win Saturday night. Besides racking up top-five finishes in two of his last three Big 8 starts, Ostdiek is a multi-time winner at Elko Speedway in 2015. Other hometown favorites gunning for victory include two-time Elko Speedway Track Champion and 2013 Thunderstruck winner ‘Crusier’ Chris Marek and veteran racer Jon Lemke, both of whom have won multiple times at their home track in 2015.

Sat Sept 26- 7th Annual ‘Thunderstruck 93’ (Elko Speedway, Elko New Market, MN)
Sat Oct 3- 50th Anniversary National Short Track Championships (Rockford Speedway, Loves Park, IL)
Sat Oct 10- 46th Oktoberfest Race Weekend (La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway, West Salem, WI)


Back to News

Next Event

Larry Detjens Memorial

Friday, July 26th

State Park Speedway

Watch Live

Top 8 in Points
As of 7/7/2024

Rank Car # Driver Name Points
1 2B Michael Bilderback 330
2 X Jon Reynolds Jr. 284
3 11S Randy Sargent 277
4 14B Grant Brown 260
5 66K Kendrick Kreyer 229
6 50G Jacob Gille 224
7 13L Brandon Laing 222
8 11R Joshua Lundy (r) 214

View Full Standings