Jon Reynolds, Jr.’s 2018 trip to State Park Speedway was a lot like
his 2014 visit to the track.

In both trips, the number 10 figured heavily into the equation, maybe
all too appropriate for the Loves Park, Ill., racer known as Driver X.
More importantly, the final results were a success both times for
Reynolds, including Friday night when he won the 58-lap Big 8 Late
Models feature, highlighting the first night of the 38th annual Larry
Detjens Memorial at the track.

Reynolds came from starting 10th in the field, took the lead from
Michael Ostdiek on lap 32 and pulled away to win by a full
straightaway over Ostdiek and the field for his second Big 8 win in
the series’ seven visits to State Park Speedway. It also was the 12th
Big 8 feature win all-time for Reynolds, who is one victory behind
leaders Michael Bilderback and Jeremy Miller for series honors.

“I don’t know if you believe in numbers or not,” said Reynolds to
track announcer Curt Keene in victory lane after the race, “but in
2014 when we won here, we parked in pit stall number 10, we won the
heat and we won the feature. Today we pitted in pit stall number 10,
we won the heat and we won the feature.”

The pass that would decide the race’s eventual winner didn’t come
easily for Reynolds. He got inside Ostdiek on the backstretch on the
32nd circuit and cleared him quickly as Ostdiek backed off in the
corner in an attempt to cross over underneath Reynolds himself.

Reynolds was not fazed, but Ostdiek was not finished, either. The 2016
winner of the Big 8’s trip to the track got into the back of Reynolds
two laps later in turns three and four, causing both cars to get
loose. Reynolds saved his car from spinning, and Grant Brown briefly
made his way all the way up to second, sneaking past Ostdiek.

Brown and Ostdiek would battle for second for the next 14 laps,
including getting side-by-side on two different occasions. That was
good news for Reynolds, who worked lapped traffic and drove away from
the rest of the leaders to build a big lead he never relinquished.

The race’s opening stages were dominated by Nick Egan, who started on
the pole and led the first 19 laps convincingly. Egan showed strength
while pulling away after the first restart, but was never the same
after the second restart. He drifted up the track on the second and
was passed by Ostdiek on lap 20, and soon faded back to fifth before
being involved in a tangle with Rayce Haase on lap 26 that sent both
to the back.

Reynolds bided his time early but got some help when the race’s
complexion changed dramatically on the 17th lap. Racing deep in the
pack, Hunter Drefahl and Todd Handrick got together in turn one, with
Handrick’s car coming to a stop in the middle of the track. The
leaders came around and a number of them ran straight into trouble,
with third-place Jacob Nottestad, points leader Miller and fast
qualifier Brody Willett all suffering damage that took them out of the

There was more bad news for frontrunners a few laps later after the
restart. A fierce battle for position on lap 18 resulted in the cars
of Ostdiek, Jerry Mueller and Joe Neisius going three-wide into turn

All three cars came out without incident, but the same couldn’t be
said when another three-wide run into the third turn resulted in
contact between third-place Jerry Mueller and State Park Speedway
regular Travis Volm, causing the latter to spin into the middle of the
track between the third and fourth turns. Minnesota’s Jared Duda was
unable to avoid him, causing heavy damage to the nose of Volm’s car.

Volm was able to return despite missing the front nose sheet metal on
his car and briefly moved back up to fifth, but the rest of the race
belonged to Reynolds.

Ostdiek finished second in his first start on the tour this year,
while Neisius finished third. Brown finished fourth and Mueller came
back to finish fifth.

“This is definitely a racy track, we just came up a little short,”
said Ostdiek. “I think we were a second-place car, Reynolds he sure
was quick…but all in all it was a good night for us.”

“It’s our first time here, it’s definitely got some quirks, it’s
tricky to drive this place,” said Neisius. “I’ll take a third coming
out here against these guys that have been here several times.”

Race Results
Larry Detjens Memorial Race (58 laps)
State Park Speedway (Wausau, WI)
Friday July 27 2018

1. Jon Reynolds Jr Loves Park, IL
2. Michael Ostdiek Lakeville, MN
3. Joe Neisius Rosemount, MN
4. Grant Brown Prior Lake, MN
5. Jerry Mueller Richfield, WI
6. Nick Egan Slinger, WI
7. Todd Handrick Wausau, WI
8. Rayce Haase Wausau, WI
9. Dave Cabelka Wausau, WI
10. Travis Volm Mosinee, WI
11. Jared Duda St Michael, MN
12. Mark Greb Coralville, IA
13. Chris Storey Burlington, WI
14. Jacob Nottestad Stoughton, WI
15. Jeremy Miller Rockford, IL
16. Brody Willett Alburnett, IA
17. Hunter Drefahl Evansville, WI
18. Justin Woller Kimberly, WI

Preliminary Race Winners: Ostdiek, Miller, Reynolds
Fast Qualifier: Willett
Car Count: 18 Big 8 Late Models

Big 8 Late Model Series Point Standings
(Top 10, as of 7/28/18)

1. 43 Jeremy Miller 323
2. X Jon Reynolds Jr 294
3. 00 Brody Willett 271
4. 13 Nick Egan ® 252
5. 14 Grant Brown ® 245
6. 75 Joe Neisius 222
7. 97 Jacob Nottestad ® 221
8. 49 Jerry Mueller 217
9. 66 Chris Storey 169
10. 42 Ryan Kamish 159


Back to News

Next Event

Spirit of '76

Friday, July 5th

Grundy County Speedway

    Watch Live

Top 8 in Points
As of 4/28/2024

Rank Car # Driver Name Points
1 2B Michael Bilderback 216
2 11S Randy Sargent 207
3 X Jon Reynolds Jr. 191
4 14B Grant Brown 153
5 50G Jacob Gille 149
6 52R Shane Radtke 142
7 49 Jerry Mueller 138
8 11R Joshua Lundy 134

View Full Standings