What: ‘Larry Detjens Memorial Race’

Where: State Park Speedway (5711 North Mountain Road, Wausau, WI)

When: Friday night July 24

Schedule and Information:
3 PM- Pit Gates Open
4 PM- Practice
4:30 PM- Fan Gates Open
6 PM- Qualifying
7 PM- Racing begins

Divisions Competing:
Big 8 Late Model Series presented by Gandrud Chevrolet
(complete show highlighted by a 58 lap feature)
PLUS: Mini Mods, Mini Stocks and Bandoleros

Admission Prices:
Adult (13 and up) – $15
​Kids (6-12) – $5
5 and Under – FREE

Current Big 8 Late Model Series Point Standings (Top 15 thru three races)

1. 28 Bobby Wilberg 338 (1 win)
2. 2 Michael Bilderback 310
3. X Jon Reynolds Jr 286
4. 14 Austin Nason 270 (1 win)
5. 97 Cole Anderson ® 234
6. 95 Wayne Freimund 228
7. 18 Michael Ostdiek 224
8. 29 Caleb Adrian 195 (1 win)
9. 5 Dave Edwards 189
10. 45 Michael Bachaus 188
11. 54 Rich Schumann Jr 171
12. 15 Michael Clapper 169
13. 82 J. Herbst 149
14. 36 Lyle Nowak 147
15. 49 Tory Adams ® 139

PREVIEWING THE ‘LARRY DETJENS MEMORIAL RACE’: It’s been almost a month since the ‘Best Weekly Warriors in the Country’ took to the track at Madison International Speedway, where Austin Nason shook off his slow start to 2015 with a commanding win in the 48 lap ‘Salute to America.’ Nason’s win not only got him back on the right foot in Big 8 Series competition, it also slipped him closer to the top of the point standings. Big 8 Late Model Series point leader Bobby Wilberg had another solid night at Madison, collecting fast time and a second place finish, while his closest competition in the points, Michael Bilderback and ‘Driver X’ Jon Reynolds Jr, both recorded top fives. Minnesota teenager Michael Ostdiek led the first portion of the Madison event and eventually tallied his first ever Big 8 Series Top Five. All five of those drivers plan to run Friday night at State Park Speedway (SPS), along with a strong field of Big 8 Series regulars and SPS hometown favorites. Two-time Big 8 Series champion Casey Johnson returns this Friday night to a track that has been very good to him through the years. Johnson has never finished worse than second in three career Big 8 starts at SPS, including a win at the tricky oval in 2013. SPS point leader Justin Mondiek will lead the weekly contingent, while local favorite Lyle Nowak plans to wheel the Shear Racing #36 for a third straight race. Nowak captured victory at SPS recently with the Mid American Stock Car Series on July 11. Last season, Reynolds topped Johnson in a hard-fought battle for victory, a win which was Reynolds’ third consecutive in Big 8 Series competition. Will a familiar face return to victory lane at SPS? Can Wilberg or Nason become the first repeat winner in the Big 8 Series this year? Or will there be a fourth different winner in four Big 8 Series events in 2015?

(as of 7/22/15)

03- Cody Kippenhan Ypsilanti, MI
2- Michael Bilderback South Beloit, IL
5- Dave Edwards Salem, WI
5- Casey Johnson Stoughton, WI
X- Jon Reynolds Jr Rockford, IL
14- Austin Nason Roscoe, IL
15- Michael Clapper Dane, WI
17- Eric Connell Ft Atkinson, WI
18- Michael Ostdiek Lakeville, MN
28- Bobby Wilberg Beloit, WI
36- Lyle Nowak Wausau, WI
39- Todd Handrick Wausau, WI
44- Justin Mondiek Gleason, WI
45- Michael Bachaus Whitewater, WI
49- Tory Adams Madison, WI
54- Rich Schumann Jr Portage, WI
66- Adam Peschek Oconomowoc, WI
79- Jeff Nowak Weston, WI
82- J Herbst West Salem, WI
87- Brent Edmunds Monticello, WI
90- Mondell Peters Mosinee, WI
95- Wayne Freimund Elkhorn, WI
97- Cole Anderson Northfield, MN

Fri July 24- Larry Detjens Memorial Race (State Park Speedway, Wausau WI)
Tues Aug 4- Gandrud Chevrolet Dixieland Delight (Wisconsin Int’l Raceway, Kaukauna WI)
Sat Sept 26- 7th Annual ‘Thunderstruck 93’ (Elko Speedway, Elko New Market, MN)
Sat Oct 3- 50th Anniversary National Short Track Championships (Rockford Speedway, Loves Park, IL)
Sat Oct 10- 46th Oktoberfest Race Weekend (La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway, West Salem, WI)


Back to News

Next Event



Madison Int'l Speedway

Watch Live     Entry Blank

Top 8 in Points
As of 4/28/2024

Rank Car # Driver Name Points
1 2B Michael Bilderback 116
2 66K Kendrick Kreyer 109
3 11S Randy Sargent 109
4 X Jon Reynolds, Jr. 96
5 49M Jerry Mueller 88
6 14B Grant Brown 85
7 11L Joshua Lundy 84
8 50G Jacob Gille 81

View Full Standings