What: ‘Salute To America’

Where: Madison International Speedway (1122 Sunrise Road, Oregon, WI 53575)

When: Friday night June 26

Schedule and Information:
3:30 PM- Pit Gates Open
5 PM- Practice
6:25 PM- Qualifying
7:30 PM- Racing begins

Divisions Competing:
Big 8 Late Model Series presented by Gandrud Chevrolet
(complete show highlighted by an 48 lap feature)
PLUS: Great Northern Sportsman Series and DASH Series and a large post-race Fireworks Show!

Admission Prices:
Adults (18+) $17
Military (w/ID) $14
Seniors (ages 62+) $14
Students (ages 12-17) $10
Children (ages 6-11) $5
Kids 5 & under: FREE

Current Big 8 Late Model Series Point Standings (Top 15 thru two races)
1. #28 Bobby Wilberg 218 (1 win)
2. #2 Michael Bilderback 197
3. #X Jon Reynolds Jr 192
4. #95 Wayne Freimund 151
5. #82 J Herbst 149
#14 Austin Nason 149
7. #97 Cole Anderson ® 147
8. #18 Michael Ostdiek 134
9. #29 Caleb Adrian 123 (1 win)
10. #5 Dave Edwards 122
11. #27 Collin Olson 119
12. #50 Jake Gille 116
#54 Rich Schumann Jr 116
14. #66 Adam Peschek 110
15. #45 Michael Bachaus 104

PREVIEWING THE ‘SALUTE TO AMERICA’: The last time the ‘Best Weekly Warriors in the Country’ took to the track, the Series made it’s first ever appearance in Iowa while teenager Caleb Adrian made his first ever appearance in Big 8 Late Model Series victory lane. The recent high-school graduate from Walcott Iowa motored past race-long leader J Herbst after the final restart of the caution filled event en route to the popular hometown victory. Herbst held onto second place, his best Big 8 finish, while holding off the advances of Michael Bilderback over the final laps. All three drivers plan to run Friday night at Madison International Speedway, and each could be considered a favorite between their past successes at the track or experience on half-mile speedways. Current Big 8 Late Model Series point leader Bobby Wilberg is a many time champion at MIS and has celebrated his share of victories at ‘Wisconsin’s Fastest Half Mile’ and a win Friday night would help solidify Wilberg as the man to beat on the 2015 Big 8 tour. ‘Driver X’ Jon Reynolds Jr sits third in current Big 8 Series point standings and is the defending winner of the 48 lap ‘Salute to America.’ Last year’s Madison win sparked a summertime hot streak for Reynolds, which included three straight Big 8 Series wins and a $2100 victory at Rockford Speedway’s ‘Star Spangled 76.’ Can Reynolds rekindle that magic? In a season with two first-time winners, will another new name grace Big 8 victory lane?

(as of 6/25/15)

03- Cody Kippenhan Ypsilanti, MI
2- Michael Bilerback South Beloit, IL
3- Shawn Gunsolus Stoughton, WI
3- Tyler Hromodka Brookfield, WI
5- Dave Edwards Salem, WI
5B- John Beale Verona, WI
X- Jon Reynolds Jr Rockford, IL
14- Austin Nason Roscoe, IL
15- Michael Clapper Dane, WI
17- Eric Connell Ft Atkinson, WI
18- Michael Ostdiek Lakeville, MN
21- Mike Lloyd Davis, IL
27- Collin Olson Maplewood, MN
28- Bobby Wilberg Beloit, WI
29- Caleb Adrian Walcott, IA
33- Dana Czach West Chicago, IL
36- Lyle Nowak Wausau, WI
41- Mike Taylor Stoughton, WI
45- Michael Bachaus Whitewater, WI
54- Rich Schumann Jr Portage, WI
66- Adam Peschek Oconomowoc, WI
82- J Herbst West Salem, WI
87- Brent Edmunds Monticello, WI
95- Wayne Freimund Elkhorn, WI
97- Cole Anderson Northfield, MN

Fri June 26- Salute to America (Madison International Speedway, Oregon WI)
Fri July 24- Larry Detjens Memorial Race (State Park Speedway, Wausau WI)
Tues Aug 4- Gandrud Chevrolet Dixieland Delight (Wisconsin Int’l Raceway, Kaukauna WI)
Sat Sept 26- 7th Annual ‘Thunderstruck 93’ (Elko Speedway, Elko New Market, MN)
Sat Oct 3- 50th Anniversary National Short Track Championships (Rockford Speedway, Loves Park, IL)
Sat Oct 10- 46th Oktoberfest Race Weekend (La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway, West Salem, WI)

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Please visit www.big8series.com

Back to News

Next Event



Madison Int'l Speedway

Watch Live     Entry Blank

Top 8 in Points
As of 4/28/2024

Rank Car # Driver Name Points
1 2B Michael Bilderback 116
2 66K Kendrick Kreyer 109
3 11S Randy Sargent 109
4 X Jon Reynolds, Jr. 96
5 49M Jerry Mueller 88
6 14B Grant Brown 85
7 11L Joshua Lundy 84
8 50G Jacob Gille 81

View Full Standings