(From track & series reports)

A day in advance of his high school graduation party, Walcott Iowa’s Caleb Adrian earned himself the most exciting present of all: his first Big 8 Late Model Series win.

After chasing Wisconsin’s J Herbst for much of the race, Adrian slipped into the lead after a lap 30 restart and sprinted away from the field en route to victory in the 48 lap Liz Girl ‘Clash at the Downs’ at Hawkeye Downs Friday night. The win, along with being the teenager’s first ever in Big 8 competition, was his second of the 2015 season. Adrian crossed the finish line nearly three seconds ahead of his closest competition.

Behind Adrian, Herbst had his hands full with Illinois racer Michael Bilderback. Shortly after Adrian powered ahead of the pack, Herbst and Bilderback engaged in a thrilling close-quarters battle for the runner up position. Bilderback applied plenty of pressure on Herbst in the race’s final paces, but despite the efforts of Bilderback, Herbst held on to the second position. The runner up was a career-best Big 8 finish for Herbst and his third career Big 8 Series top five.

Bilderback, who started the race in eighth place, quickly jumped into the top five and made his presence known, Through much of the race, it was Bilderback and Adrian wrestling with each other for second behind Herbst, who jumped to the early race lead ahead of outside pole sitter Jon Reynolds Jr. Bilderback and Adrian traded second place multiple times, before Adrian moved past both Bilderback and Herbst on the final restart.

Walford Iowa’s Brian Gibson ran a steady race, starting inside the top five and finishing in the top five, with a fourth place finish to his credit. Reynolds, after falling back as far as sixth early in the race, soldiered on to a fifth place finish.

‘Liz Girl Clash at the Downs’
Hawkeye Downs (Cedar Rapids IA)
Friday June 5 2015

1. Caleb Adrian; Walcott, IA
2. J Herbst; West Salem, WI
3. Michael Bilderback; South Beloit, IL
4. Brian Gibson; Walford, IA
5. Jon Reynolds Jr; Rockford, IL
6. Brad Osborn; Janesville, IA
7. Bobby Wilberg; Beloit, WI
8. Lyle Nowak; Wausau, WI
9. Cole Anderson; Northfield, MN
10. Eric Connell; Ft Atkinson, WI
11. Michael Ostdiek; Lakeville, MN
12. Austin Nason; Roscoe, IL
13. Wayne Freimund; Elkhorn, WI
14. Rich Schumann Jr; Portage, WI
15. Michael Clapper; Dane, WI
16. Chad Siems; Shellsburg, IA
17. Adam Peschek; Oconomowoc, WI
18. Joey Gase; Cedar Rapids, IA
19. Dave Edwards; Salem, WI
20. Griffin McGrath; Cedar Rapids, IA
21. Adam Bendzick; Elko, MN
22. Scott Siems; Cedar Rapids, IA
23. Brian Allen; Hiawatha, IA
24. Collin Olson; Maplewood, MN

Prelim winners: Bendzick, Peschek, Herbst, Reynolds, Edwards
Fast Qualifier: McGrath
Entries: 30 Big 8 Series Late Models

Back to News

Next Event

Firecracker 58

Friday, June 30th

Tomah Sparta Speedway - Tunnel City, WI

Watch LIVE!


Top 8 in Points
As of 6/7/2023

Rank Car # Driver Name Points
1 X Jon Reynolds, Jr. 337
2 11S Randy Sargent 301
3 49M Jerry Mueller 246
4 14K Kody King 236
5 14B Grant Brown 234
6 13G Jacob Gille 233
7 3B Greg Borchardt (r) 232
8 2N Dale Nottestad 219

View Full Standings