What: Liz Girl’s ‘Clash at the Downs’

Where: Hawkeye Downs (4400 6th St SW, Cedar Rapids, IA)

When: Friday night June 5


Schedule and Information: 

3 PM- Pit Gates Open

4:30 PM- Big 8 Late Model Series Practice

6 PM- Big 8 Late Model Series Qualifying

7:30 PM- Racing begins


Divisions Competing: 

Big 8 Late Model Series presented by Gandrud Chevrolet

(complete show highlighted by an 48 lap feature)

PLUS: Sportsman, Hobby Stocks, Legends and Hornets


Admission Prices: 

Adults: $12

Seniors (ages 62+) $7

Students (ages 13-17) $5

Kids 12 & under: FREE


Current Big 8 Late Model Series Point Standings (Top 10 thru one race)

1. #28 Bobby Wilberg 128 (1 win)

2. #50 Jake Gille 116

3. #X Jon Reynolds Jr 102

4. #45 Michael Bachaus 99

5. #2 Michael Bilderback 85

6. #33 Dana Czach 84

#95 Wayne Freimund 84

8. #14 Austin Nason 78

9. #54 Josh Nelms 76

10. #27 Collin Olson 75


Current Hawkeye Downs Weekly Late Model Point Standings (Top 6 thru three races)

1. #74 Tim Plummer 61 (1 win)

2. #64 Griffin McGrath 58 (1 win)

3. #29 Caleb Adrian 56 (1 win)

#72 Brad Osborn 56

5. #17 Brian Gibson 53

6. #43 Scott Siems 44

#52 Brian Allen 44


PREVIEWING THE ‘CLASH AT THE DOWNS’: The 2015 Big 8 Late Model Series season got off to a wet and wild start at Rockford Speedway back on April 12, as veteran racer Bobby Wilberg collected his first ever series win in ten years of trying. Wilberg outlasted an hour-long rain delay and assumed the race lead with 20 laps remaining in the 88 lap event following contact with Casey Johnson which knocked the two-time Big 8 Series champion out of the top spot and eventually out of the race. Wilberg is looking to make it two-in-a-row to start the new season as the ‘Best Weekly Warriors in the Country’ make their first ever trip to the Hawkeye State for a Friday night date at the 90-year old Hawkeye Downs facility. Big 8 standouts like ‘Driver X’ Jon Reynolds Jr, Austin Nason, J Herbst, Rich Schumann Jr & Michael Bilderback will take on a tough group of Iowa racers, led by NASCAR Xfinity Series racer and former Hawkeye Downs champion Joey Gase. Other home state racers joining Gase Friday night include reigning Hawkeye Downs champion Tim Plummer, former track champion Brad Osborn, Cedar Rapids native Griffin McGrath and teenager Caleb Adrian.



(as of 6/3/15)

2- Michael Bilderback South Beloit, IL

5- Dave Edwards Salem, WI

X- Jon Reynolds Jr Rockford, IL

14- Austin Nason Roscoe, IL

17- Eric Connell Ft Atkinson, WI

17- Brian Gibson Walford, IA

18- Michael Ostdiek Lakeville, MN

21- Adam Bendzick Elko, MN

21- Mike Lloyd Davis, IL

27- Collin Olson Maplewood, MN

28- Bobby Wilberg Beloit, WI

29- Caleb Adrian Walcott, IA

33- Dana Czach Wauconda, IL

35- Joey Gase Cedar Rapids, IA

36- Lyle Nowak Wausau, WI

43- Scott Siems Cedar Rapids, IA

45- Michael Bachaus Whitewater, WI

49- Tory Adams Madison, WI

52- Brian Allen Hiawatha, IA

54- Rich Schumann Jr Portage, WI

64- Griffin McGrath Cedar Rapids, IA

66- Adam Peschek Oconomowoc, WI

72- Brad Osborn Janesville, IA

74- Tim Plummer Norway, IA

76- Chad Siems Shellsburg, IA

82- J Herbst West Salem, WI

95- Wayne Freimund Elkhorn, WI

97- Cole Anderson Northfield, MN

99- Jack Litsheim La Crosse, WI

99- Logan Mitchell Palmyra, MO



Fri June 5- Liz Girl’s ‘Clash at the Downs’ (Hawkeye Downs, Cedar Rapids, IA)

Fri June 26- Salute to America (Madison International Speedway, Oregon WI)

Fri July 24- Larry Detjens Memorial Race (State Park Speedway, Wausau WI)

Tues Aug 4- Gandrud Chevrolet Dixieland Delight (Wisconsin Int’l Raceway, Kaukauna WI)

Sat Sept 26- 7th Annual ‘Thunderstruck 93’ (Elko Speedway, Elko New Market, MN)

Sat Oct 3- 50th Anniversary National Short Track Championships (Rockford Speedway)

Sat Oct 10- 46th Oktoberfest Race Weekend (La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway, West Salem, WI)


Back to News

Next Event

Larry Detjens Memorial

Friday, July 26th

State Park Speedway

Watch Live

Top 8 in Points
As of 7/7/2024

Rank Car # Driver Name Points
1 2B Michael Bilderback 330
2 X Jon Reynolds Jr. 284
3 11S Randy Sargent 277
4 14B Grant Brown 260
5 66K Kendrick Kreyer 229
6 50G Jacob Gille 224
7 13L Brandon Laing 222
8 11R Joshua Lundy (r) 214

View Full Standings